Palmerstown, located beside the River Liffey is accessible off the M50 from junction 7 and is located along the old N4, Dublin-Sligo Road, about 4 miles from the city centre. The area known as Palmerstown is divided into two parts, “Old Palmerstown” refers to the area of the village that was built in the decade from 1955 and 1965. This area is bounded on one side by Wheatfield Road, on another by Kennelsfort roads, and on the third side by the N4.
Palmerstown Village is adjacent to the N4 and the River Liffey. The nearby Waterstown Park offers opportunities for recreation and exploring nature on the edge of the Liffey in the tranquil valley of the River Liffey. Historically Palmerstown would have been connected to the nearby Farmleigh estate via the Guinness or Silver Bridge which can be seen today from Waterstown Park but is closed to the public.
Its also possible to explore the Liffey on the water through kayaking and rafting. Local providers include Rafting.ie.
Palmerstown Inn and the Coach House offer local food options in the Village.
The parish of Palmerstown has been known by this name since the twelfth century when the lands here were held by the Hospital of St. John the Baptist without Newgate, otherwise known as the Palmer’s Hospital from the name of the founder Aelred the Palmer. Aelred founded the Augustinian Palmers’ Monastery in Thomas Street (John’s Lane) in thanks for having returned safely from an arduous pilgrimage to the Holy Land.